This work is used with the permission of the World Commission on Environment and Development. © 1984, World Commission on Environment and Development.

ANNEX 1

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS AT THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE WORLD COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENT AND DEVELOPMENT

GENEVA, OCTOBER 1-3, 1984

List of Commissioners

- 1. Mrs Gro Harlem Brundtland Chairman NORWAY
- 2. Dr Mansour Khalid Vice-Chairman SUDAN
- 3. Mrs Susanna Agnelli Under-Secretary of State Ministry of Foreign Affairs ITALY
- 4. Dr Saleh Al-Athel Executive Director and Chairman of the Board Saudi Arabian National Centre for Science and Technology SAUDI ARABIA
- 5. Mrs Margarita de Botero General Manager, INDERENA COLOMBIA
- 6. H.E. Mr. Bernhard Chidzero Minister for Finance, Economical Planning and Development ZIMBWAWE

1-2 October

2-3 October

- 7. Mr Pablo Gonzalez Casanova Professor, Instituto de Investigaciones Sociales MEXICO
- 8. Dr Volker Hauff Member of Parliament of the Federal Republic of Germany FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY
- 9. Professor Istvan Lang Deputy General and Secretary General Hugarian Academy of Sciences HUNGARY
- 10. Dr Ma Shijun, Director Research Centre of Ecology Academia Sinica PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA
- 11. Mr. Pauolo Nogueira-Neto
 Secretario do Meio Ambiente
 BRAZIL
- 12. H.E. Dr. Saburo Okita JAPAN
- 13. Mr. Shridath S. Ramphal Secretary General of the Commonwealth Secretariat GUYANA
- 14. H.E. Mr. Emil Salim, Minister Population and Environment INDONESIA

1-3 October 10.00 hrs.

1-3 October 13.00 hrs.

1 October only

- 15. H.E. Dr. Bucar Shaib Federal Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources NIGERIA
- 16. H.E. Judge Nagendra Singh INDIA

1-3 October 13.00 hrs

- 17. Mr. Janez Stanovnik Member of the Presidency Socialist Republic of Slovenia YUGOSLAVIA
- 18. Mr. Maurice Strong CANADA

1-3 October 13.00 hrs